Skip to main content

Coryell County in Texas declared as primary natural disaster area

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared Coryell County in Texas as a primary natural disaster area due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought.

“Our hearts go out to those Texas farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” Agriculture Secretary, Tom Vilsack said in a press release issued on May 13.

Farmers and ranchers in Bell, Bosque, Hamilton, Lampasas and McLennan counties in Texas also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

All qualified farm operators in the designated areas are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has also declared Duchesne and Uintah counties in Utah as primary natural disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by the drought.

News Source: