Skip to main content

Lincoln County declared as primary natural disaster area

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared Lincoln County in Nevada as a primary natural disaster area due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought.

“Our hearts go out to those Nevada farmers and ranchers affected by recent natural disasters,” Agriculture Secretary, Tom Vilsack, mentioned in a press release issued on April 22, 2015.

Farmers and ranchers in Clark, Nye and White Pine counties in Nevada qualify for natural disaster assistance and are eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA).

Farmers and ranchers in Mohave County in Arizona and Box, Elder and Tooele counties in Utah also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses.

News Source: